Arizona’s New Minimum Wage


Arizona’s minimum wage will increase next year. It is currently significantly higher than the federal minimum wage, but next year it will rise to $12. It also requires employers to pay state minimum wages to outside salespeople. If you have a salesperson on commission, this new law could affect you. Read on to learn more. Here are some details about the change. The first thing to remember is that the increase will only apply to businesses that are in metro areas.

Arizona’s minimum wage is already significantly higher than the federal level

As the state’s minimum wage increases, it’s important to be aware of these changes. If you’re running a business in Arizona, you should research the laws and learn more about the implications for your business. If you have employees, you’ll also want to understand the difference between hourly and salaried workers. This article will help you decide which of these two options is best for your business.

In 2006, Arizona voters approved a state minimum wage of $6.75 per hour, and the federal government allows for a $5.15 minimum wage. The state’s minimum wage is now $8.05 an hour, slightly higher than the federal level. In another 10 years, the minimum wage in Arizona will drop below $9. The state also recently approved a law to require companies with 15 or more employees to provide their employees with 40 hours of paid sick leave. For smaller companies, that number drops to 24 hours.

It will rise to $12 next year

The minimum wage will increase to $12 in Arizona next year. That raise is part of a trend across states that is driving up wages. New York and Oregon have both raised minimum wages to at least $15 an hour, and Oregon has also voted to increase it to that level. Then there is Arizona. Voters approved a $15 minimum wage initiative in Tucson. While some state governments have voted to increase the minimum wage, others are not doing so.

While most states are facing labor shortages and high inflation, Arizona is a particularly challenging state when it comes to wage increases. With a lack of skilled labor, businesses and the state’s supply chain is having trouble keeping up. So policymakers are pushing for quick fixes. One such proposal is House Bill 2262, which would raise the state minimum wage to $15 per hour by 2023. The minimum wage in Arizona would increase each year in line with cost-of-living increases.

It affects employers in metro areas

If you’re a business owner in an Arizona metro area, you might have a few questions about Arizona’s new minimum wage. This state has a high minimum wage, and it was increased in January of this year to $11 per hour. The minimum wage will then rise annually in line with the Consumer Price Index (CPI), which measures the cost of living in the state. Moreover, the state’s minimum wage will increase a full cent if the cost of living increases each year.

The new Arizona minimum wage law is linked to consumer price levels, which may make it self-perpetuating. In metro Phoenix, the inflation rate is currently at its highest point in history. It is not clear whether Arizona’s minimum wage law will increase the cost of living, but it is an important topic to be considered. Inflation in Arizona is expected to increase by about 10% by August. The minimum wage does not have any provision to decrease during a recession, so a higher minimum wage may result in job losses and business closures. Inflation may worsen the next recession.

It requires employers to pay outside salesperson paid on commission the state minimum wage

Unlike salaried employees, an outside salesperson is not required to work more than forty hours per week. Therefore, they do not need to be paid the state minimum wage. Moreover, they are not required to track their hours. This exemption allows employers to avoid a large number of legal pitfalls. Listed below are some of the things that employers should consider. You should be aware of the law.

One of the first things to understand about the law is that it does not apply to an outside salesperson who works remotely. These people do not meet in person and are usually paid on commission. However, many sales representatives visit customers remotely. These changes may have an impact on the employees’ exempt status under federal and state wage laws. Therefore, employers must use innovative solutions to remain in compliance. Although outside salespersons are usually exempt from the minimum wage laws, the increasing number of telecommuting employees is causing a challenge for employers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *